Kansas City First Fridays, a September Review

It’s been quite some time since I’ve updated the blog; much of my time has been spent preparing for the KC+ Connect group exhibition at the Hilliard Gallery, in which Cory Hinesley and I went a little over the top with installation. Check out Jenny’s concise review of September Frist Friday and see a peek of one of my images!

thatbigB.com

Photo credit: David Cedillo http://davidcedillo.com/index.php/2012/01/last-friday-first-friday/ Photo credit: David Cedillo

As much as I hate to admit it, when a friend told me he was exhibiting his artwork at a gallery this past Friday, I was not looking forward to going. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely wanted to support him and his artwork, but for me, attending First Fridays has completely lost its luster. I’m not a fan of clueless crowds or mediocrity and I’m sad to say, during my last few experiences with First Fridays, those were my only two take-aways.

Hopeful that the unseasonably cool, soggy weather would keep the masses at bay but unwilling to give up my sweet parking spot near Lydia’s just in case,  I trudged down 18th Street toward Grinders for a beer. It was only 5:30 p.m. but already the place was packed. Tasty beer, loud crowd, moving on.

Confident that my friend’s artwork would not perpetuate my gloomy outlook toward…

View original post 372 more words

Leave a Reply

